Taste Guru October Box

The Taste Guru team finds, tastes, and evaluates a huge assortment of gluten-free food from all over the world. If we like it, we know you will, too!

Taste Guru October 2013Alpine Avocado Vinaigrette

Try this as a salad dressing. Alpine Avocado Vinaigrette goes great with mixed greens, spinach and pasta salads. As with life, variety in a salad adds to the experience. I always add chopped green apples, red grapes, and dried berries in my green salads. Yummy-licious!

Dang, That’s Good Coconut Chips

Made from the nutrient-packed copra, or meat of the coconut, their toasted coconut chips are a delicious snack that provides loads of energy. The meat is sliced out of mature coconuts then gently toasted until golden brown with a dash of sugar and salt. The toasting process brings out the natural sweetness of the coconut meat and turns it from white to golden brown. Professional tasters detect notes of vanilla, yogurt and pear. What do you taste?

Mediterranean Snack Hummus Crisps

These came in my Taste Guru October Box. They are a yummy Hummus flavored Crisps. I always keep healthy snacks on me in the chance that I forget to eat. I am very weight conscious and also need to watch everything that I eat because of my End-Stage-Liver-Disease. I have to eat a lot of a little to prevent seizures. These were a welcome change from any granola bar or pretzel. Thank you Taste Guru for introducing me to Mediterranean Snack Hummus Crisps! High in protein, low in fat. Visit their website for coupons, products, and recipes.

Bakery on Main Instant Oatmeal

I received 1 packet of Strawberry Shortcake Flavor Instant Oatmeal in my Taste Guru Box. Oatmeal always reminds me of my weekends with my Grandparents. My sister and I would wake up to a yummy bowl of hot oatmeal. My Grandmother would dice up strawberries and bananas and put them in our bowls and would sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon on top. The Strawberry Shortcake Flavored Instant Oatmeal was like biting into a warm, delicious memory. Fill your bowl with the taste of fresh strawberries and whipped cream and the health benefits of a multigrain blend of certified gluten free oats, amaranth and quinoa. Strawberry Shortcake Flavor Instant Oatmeal 6 packets @ 1.75oz = 10.5oz  $5.99

That’s It Fruit Bars

I absolutely love That’s It Fruit Bars. Not only are they good for you but, they are also filling. I have eaten so many granola, protein, rice snacks, this is certainly a welcome change. You can really taste the fruit filling and its natural fruit goodness. That’s It Fruit Bars got my liver doctor’s and my, stamp of approval. $19.99 for a box of 12.

Fiona’s Natural Foods Granola

I eat a lot of yogurt and always toss in fruit and granola, so I was pleasantly surprised to see a large package of it in my Taste Guru October Box. I wasn’t  really sure of how gluten free granola would taste. Fiona’s Natural Foods Granola was much better than I had expected, it was quite good. I tossed in dried kiwi, bananas, and raisins. This will really make your taste buds dance!

Fiona’s Granola is extremely nutritious. Their products are packed with vitamins and minerals. They use only natural ingredients such as organic grains, unsulfured fruit and pure organic agave nectar. Their granola is high in protein and fiber, naturally sweetened, low in fat and sugar and contains no cholesterol. All of their products are wheat free, dairy free, and vegan. The only sweetener is agave nectar, which is low glycemic and safe for diabetics.

Glutino Frosted Sensible Cereal

Nothing says “morning” like . . . well, a dog staring right in your face, dying to get out to go potty! Then I pour the ever necessary cup of Java! I can’t function in the morning without eating something. I’m wicked grouchy until I’ve eaten. I don’t understand people who function and are happy in the morning. I’m a cereal fanatic. I could eat cereal for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. In my Taste Guru October Box was a box of Frosted Sensible Beginnings Gluten Free Cereal. I tried to like this, I really did. No matter how much fruit I added, the Cereal tasted like..nothing, I can’t even pretend to like this cereal.

 

Leave a Comment

